Friday, October 21, 2005

Musical Graffiti, 10/21-- New soul music compilation from Joe Henry!

UPDATE: Thanks to Caleb for pointing out that this album isn't in the works... it's already in stores! Here's the AMG review.

Pitchfork Media has some of the best news I've heard all week: There's a new project in the works from one of the finest singer/songwriters working today, the great Joe Henry.

Okay, so it isn't actually a new solo recording, but still, anything with Henry's fingerprints on it is bound to be worthwhile. Apparently inspired by his work with Solomon Burke, Henry is assembling an all-star cast of classic soul music veterans for a star-studded compilation album, with proceeds going to Hurrican Katrina relief efforts.

Check out the full tracklisting:

01 Mavis Staples: You Must Have That True Religion
02 Billy Preston: Both Ways--
03 Ann Peebles: Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You
04 Irma Thomas: The Same Love That Made Me Laugh
05 Allen Toussaint: Mi Amour
06 Mavis Staples: Keep on Pushing
07 Billy Preston: As One
08 Irma Thomas: Loving Arms
09 Allen Toussaint: River Boat
10 Mavis Staples and Billy Preston: That's Enough
11 Allen Toussaint: Turvalon
12 Ann Peebles: When the Candle Burns Low
13 Allen Toussaint: We Are One


Post a Comment

<< Home